Uncategorized

the first of many movie recommendations

Gone Girl

I’ve spoken to a few people about this and then I get the whole “I don’t like Ben Affleck …” crap. Don’t go see a movie because of the actors. Forget about how you feel about the actors. I’m always looking at who’s directing it, who’s writing it, who’s producing it.

It’s directed by David Fincher. I really enjoy his work. Thanks to him, I am OBSESSED with the Netflix series, House of Cards (they’ll be posts on that later). Gone Girl is also a best-selling book by Gillian Flynn. I didn’t read the book.

Back to the movie. It’s obvious from the trailers and the title, that the wife is missing and all signs point to Ben Affleck’s character. My first thought was, “Is this story based on the Scott Peterson case?” No, it ends up being more than that. The cast is actually pretty good. Ben Affleck is good, Rosamund Pike is great. Neil Patrick Harris is great as the creepy guy from her past. Tyler Perry is pretty good. I was happy to see Tyler Perry in the role of a hot-shot, high priced, high profile, arrogant defense attorney. Kim Dickens (I know her from Sons of Anarchy) is great as the relentless detective, Patrick Fugit is good as her strong yet silent partner. Casey Wilson (I know her from Happy Endings) has a small yet memorable role as the concerned neighbor. It’s a mystery so I really can’t say much more about it because I don’t want to give anything away. I don’t normally like to talk during movies, but there were a couple of moments when I yelled “What the fuck?!”. There was a memorable scene (those of you who have seen it know what I’m talking about) where I just gasped and mouth just hung open for about two minutes. I love when movies surprise me and I love that I didn’t predict the outcome.

Go see it!

What I also liked about this film is that the trailers don’t real give anything away. I get so annoyed when I see a 60 minute trailer that gives away the beginning, middle, and end of a movie. I like to be surprised. No spoilers.

Standard

One thought on “the first of many movie recommendations

Leave a Reply

