Life

Goodbye 2014, Hello 2015

2014 was a pretty good year for me. I accomplished a lot of what I set out to do.

I made new friends, reconnected with old friends, and ended a very toxic friendship.

Regarding the toxic friendship, I’m not going to dignify her with an entire post, although being the narcissist that she is, she’d probably expect it. I will say this: no matter who you are, you deserve to be treated with respect. Your education level or career choice doesn’t give you the right to look down on others. Fifteen years, we’ve known each other, I’ve never been treated with an ounce of respect or as an equal. It’s as much my fault as it is hers for putting up with it for so long. It’s a shame because this person used to be a decent friend but has gotten so arrogant and unaware of how off putting her personality and attitude are.

I decided long ago that I would not tolerate negative people in my life any longer. I just don’t have to put up with it.

Life is short, surround yourself with those that are loving, positive, kind,  encouraging, anyone that makes you happy!

I’m not really one for making resolutions, I think it’s a waste of time. I am making goals but I actually have game plans to achieve those goals. I’m not really going to talk about what I hope to accomplish in the upcoming year, I’d rather tell people what I’ve done rather than what I’m going to do.

My plans for tonight are simple, I will be home asleep by midnight. Like the last couple of years. New Years Eve is not a night that I like to be out. It’s also not a night that I want to consume alcohol. Call me a prude, but I don’t want to ring in my new year inebriated or hungover. And since I have the next day off, I’ll probably wake up my usual time and do some housework.

I like my boring life. 🙂

Standard

9 thoughts on “Goodbye 2014, Hello 2015

  1. Happy New Year, my friend. There is nothing wrong with what you are choosing to do tonight, so long as that is what will make you happy.

    I can relate to your post. I had more than one relationship that had to be ended this year and it was only after it ended that I realized I was the better for it.

    Talk to you soon, we’re long past due for a #EverySimpsonsEver quote night.

    Like

  2. Hi, from Holly’s group or Jedi’s . That was very brave of you. I admire your courage, because I usually can’t get away from friends even when it came to a point where I almost said goodbye – but I never did. Perhaps, it is because I believe they deserve second and third chances. There goes my soft heart again. I hope it won’t get to the point where I really have to say goodbye to my friends for good. But you’re absolutely correct. You should never maintain stressful relationships. Keep writing, it eases out all these stressed emotions, at times.

    Like

    • It definitely wasn’t easy and I almost went back. But then I remembered myself of how unhappy I was, how much I was ignored and mistreated. I strongly believe in second chances but not when you’re just going to end up being a doormat or punching bag.
      There’s nothing wrong with having a soft heart. The world needs softhearted people. You can’t have too many people running around with my temperament. *shudders*
      I will keep writing! I got an inspiration for a story. Never piss off a writer. *evil laugh*
      Nice to meet you, Jena.

      Like

  3. mitchtheman says:

    I set goals but indirectly know they’re also resolutions, and work well as a measuring stick when I go back and look at them every year.

    As for the toxic friendships… I separated from a couple this year as well, though it was them leaving and me not being upset by it. I figure that at my age I shouldn’t have to skirt my own thoughts and words because someone I know might not agree, and if they can’t take the disagreement then it’s on them since I always try to be nice… kind of lol

    Like

  4. Exactly my point! I shouldn’t have to guard my words and be treated poorly. Nothing changed in 15 years so it was time to move on. And I do normally try to be nice and passive and easy-going. Thanks for stopping by, Mitch.

    Like

  5. Hey! Looks like the party’s hoppin’! Hi, Jena, hi, Mitch! Good gravy, Mia, you are a loyal friend if you put up with being treated like a doormat for 15 years. (That, or you need some serious therapy!) My friends and I won’t do that to you. And if you ever feel like I have, you just smack me upside the head (or help me uncork it from whatever dark hole it’s stuck in), ‘kay?

    I have to say, though, that I enjoy your company most when you’re easy-going – but not TOO “nice and passive.” 🙂 I truly enjoyed hanging out with you over the holidays, and thank you again for helping me on my personal “vision quest.”

    I think it’s funny that, over the years, “resolution” has taken on a wishy-washy, uncommitted connotation, while “goals” now seems more purposeful and resolved. Clearly, we’ve been looking at “resolutions” all wrong, when that’s the case. I see them as synonymous. Without commitment, none of them are going to magically happen. Those are called “wishes.”

    Like

  6. A little of both Holly – loyal friend and in need of some therapy lol.
    I had a blast hanging with you over the holidays. Your family is awesome. They brought Legos to a whole new level.
    And yeah, no one would accuse me of being “too nice” LOL!!
    You described exactly how I feel about resolutions! I just couldn’t find the right way to express it. Yes, they are depressing wishes we make, that we’re not going to actually work for.
    Your friends seem nice. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

