General, Life

Plotters and Pantsers

So I joined a writers group a couple months back.

Each meeting, we get a chance to go around the table and critique work that has been submitted by other members of the group. Usually, the group members post one chapter at a time. I have yet to post anything.

I know exactly what type of story I want to write, I have the beginning, middle, and end. I have the characters, plots, all that. In my head. I have scattered and random notes all over the place but I have yet to actually get started. I have a hard time getting my thoughts together. I see it all in my head but I can’t seem to get it on paper.

Yesterday, the group’s moderator asked about my writing. I told her about the difficulty I was having. When it comes to my writing, I’m a bit of a perfectionist and not in a good way. I edit and edit and edit, so much that I don’t finish the work and I’ve completely destroyed what little I’ve managed to write.

She understood. Then she asked, “Are you a plotter or a pantser?”

Turns out, I’m a plotter, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing – but in my case, I think it is. I keep making notes, really detailed notes, than changing them. And again, nothing gets written.

I really envy the pantsers, the people that can just sit down and write without thinking. I used to be able to do that. It’s been over ten years since I’ve written anything original. And when I did, I was usually able to just sit down and write without thinking about it.

*sigh*

Stupid writer’s block.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Plotters and Pantsers

  1. I think I am more of a pantser as most of the stuff I’ve been writing the past week or so has been off the top of my head. Of course, since it is nonfiction it is this way in part because I’ve had years to think about all of these things I’m writing.

    I wish I could combine your editing and my free thought into one thing though. Editing is my least favorite part, once something is written I feel like in some ways that I am finished and don’t really want to go back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

