General, Life, TV

American Greed

Hello again, my neglected blog …

There are people out there who love true crime and I never saw the appeal. But then a few years ago, I became obsessed with a certain type of true crime. White collar crime.

I can’t explain it but I can’t get enough of CNBC’s American Greed. I live tweet a lot during the show. I even won a free American Greed t-shirt. Yes, it’s that serious.

Maybe it’s because I’m in sales that I have this fascination with white collar criminals. I never miss an episode of American Greed. I’ve seen Boiler Room 5 times and I’ve seen Wolf of Wall Street 8 times. Now don’t get me wrong, I, in no way, want to become like that. I just like getting the whole story. I like to see how it all began. I want to see that moment when the criminal decides to cross that line.

 

The Wolf of Wall Street was entertaining in a funny and raunchy kind of way but when you actually watch the American Greed episode featuring Jordan Belfort’s story, you realize he was a greedy asshole. As a salesperson, I sort of admire his way with words and how he was able to sway so many people into giving or earning him millions. He had charisma. He always had the right words. On the other hand, I’m disgusted because so many honest and hard-working people lost their savings because they trusted that Belfort had their best interest at heart. He created an entire company of employees just like him at his firm, Stratton Oakmont, and then threw them under the bus to the feds. I don’t believe he’s reformed and I don’t believe he’s paid all the money back like he’s claiming.

Sometimes, I’ll watch American Greed and point out where the criminal went wrong and how he/she could have gotten away with it. At times, I’ll make jokes about what my own ponzi scheme might work. Of course, I would never do such a thing. It might make for a good story though. Hmm …

Standard

One thought on “American Greed

  1. Any time you can win a free t-shirt is a good time indeed.

    I haven’t seen American Greed but I may have to fix that soon.

    I am one of those people who you mention as being a fan of true crime and for the most part I would say it is for the same reasons
    that you mention. I love observing and seeing where people decided to go wrong. I’ve read a couple of different books that would be classified as white collar true crime one on the Archer Daniels Midland price fixing scandal and another on Enron and they were both quite fascinating.

    Charisma can be a wonderful thing to possess and a dangerous atribute to fall victim too. Guess we have something else we could discuss. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

