Anecdotes, Life

Texas State Fair Food

I attended the state fair my first two years in Texas. And here is a list of what I ate. I don’t really plan on going again. I already ate everything I wanted to try.

 

Cheeseburger with everything on it plus Krispy Kreme donuts as hamburger buns,

Cheese Fries

Deep fried jambalaya

Fried beer

Regular beer

Deep fried chocolate covered strawberries

Funnel cake sticks

Fried cactus

Corn dog

Turkey leg

Fried Thanksgiving dinner

Fried salsa

Fried banana cream pie

Fried butter

Fried Oreo

Fried red velvet cupcake

Wine

Standard

4 thoughts on “Texas State Fair Food

  1. Last week after you so rudely fell asleep 😉 one of the episodes of the Simpsons that they showed had them going to the state fair.

    I was reasonably certain that they had actually come to South Dakota and researched the state fair for accuracy. They had everything nailed, including the past their prime rock band playing. BTO in the episode…Huey Lewis and the News coming to SD this year.

    Anyway, reading your list of foods consumed reminded me of that and that there was a joke about Homer’s shirt being deep fried.

    Homer: I told you they could deep fry my shirt.
    Marge: I didn’t say they couldn’t, I said you shouldn’t.

    Pretty much when I go to the fair, I have 3 staples. A corn dog, a funnel cake (usually split with my mom) and kettle corn. I also try to find the biggest thing of lemonade that I can. Except last year I was denied the kettle corn in part because I couldn’t stop watching Every Simpsons Ever to go to the fair earlier. That’s what I get for only going the last day.

    Like

  2. Sir, I’ll have you know, sir, that I saw most of that episode before I dozed off, sir. I definitely saw the deep fried shirt part which was hilarious.

    Corn dogs, funnel cake, and kettle corn are a must at fairs. This is America! U-S-A! U-S-A! U-S-A! Imagine I said that like Homer.

    The SD fair sounds cool. But Texas is where they would have deep fried Homer’s shirt. I mean, they deep fry everything else lol.

    Like

  3. The best part of the SD State fair is that it is a mere several blocks from my apartment and that people get in for free on Labor Day. lol

    I’ll imagine everything you say as if Homer were saying it until further notice, it sounds like fun.

    Like

  4. AJ says:

    Umm I am surprised that you are still with us. Heart attack anyone?! Lol. Who am I kidding, bring on the fried!!! I recently saw an episode about a friend chicken breast sandwiched between a jelly donut, smothered in honey … I wanted one. Though I’ve never been to the State Fair.

    Like

Leave a Reply

