General

Would You Rather …?

Okay, there’s a blog tag going around and I got tagged by my friend, Holly Jahangiri. If anyone can get me to blog, it’s Holly. So my task is to answer the questions in bold. Here I go.

Would you rather only read trilogies or only read standalones?

Trilogy, as in a book series? That’s a tough one. I love book series, but it turns me into a different person. I read pretty fast, and then I get impatient waiting for the next book. I’m like a junkie trying to get her fix. I’ll stalk the author’s website, Facebook, and even go so far as to tweet them directly. It’s great to see how your favorite characters develop and live out their lives in series. However, one of my favorite authors killed off a character in his series years ago, and I was depressed for days. So I guess I’ll have to go with standalone.

Would you rather only read male or female authors?

I guess I’ll go with female authors. Although, I’ve read a few male authors that I think do a great job of writing for women.

Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

Amazon. I don’t like Barnes and Noble. They don’t know anything without their computers. If you ask me to choose between Amazon and a local used bookstore, then I’ll choose the latter. For nearly 15 years, I used to frequent a used bookstore with my mom. I loved it. The ladies that worked there were actual bookworms. They just knew off the top of their heads where to find the books I was looking for. They knew when the next ones were coming out. And the best part? They used to make recommendations! In my opinion, the best thing a bookstore can say to you is, “Hey, if you like this author, then you might also enjoy …” I ended up discovering so many other authors that way.

So I’ll go with Amazon. I’ve certainly spent enough money at the site on both paperback books and Kindle books. And they sometimes have good recommendations based on the books I buy. I also read reviews before I buy.

Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

No! Some of my favorite series have been ruined either on the small screen or the silver screen. Yes, there have been some good adaptations but there have been more bad adaptations then good ones. So I say no!

Would you rather read only five pages per day or five books per week?

Well I usually average about two to three a week, so I guess I must choose five books a week.

Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?

Professional author. I rarely write reviews.

Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?

That’s tricky. I would like to be a librarian before the age of the internet and computers. Back when you had to learn the card catalogue and the dewey decimal system. And back when you had to be quiet because libraries were actually quiet. I would not want to be one today. I went to the library here in town for the first time since I moved out here, and I hated it. It was so loud. Everybody had a cell phone going off, the librarians were having loud conversations, and each computer had at least three people sitting in front of it, also having a loud conversation. People are the worst!

Would you rather read only your favorite genre, or every other genre but your favorite?

This question sucks. I guess if I had to choose, I’ll have to go with my favorite genre.

Would you rather only read ebooks or physical books?

I do like the convenience of having a hundred books on my Kindle and the fact that no one knows whether or not I’m reading a hot, steamy romance. But nothing beats an old fashioned paperback, so I’ll choose physical books.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Would You Rather …?

  1. Pingback: Would you rather…? | For the Love of ...

Leave a Reply

