General, Life

Time to leave? (Angry Post)

So I’ve been thinking for the past year about leaving Texas. I’ve lived here over three years now and I kinda think I’m done with this place. I’m done with ridiculously hot weather; I’m done with xenophobes, homophobes, racists, racists that are unaware of being racist, the tea party, and Conservative Republicans.

Yes, you can and will find these kinds of things everywhere but here in Texas, it’s taken to a completely different level.

I’m tired of the damn Confederate flag debate. If you want to fly the damn the thing, then fly it – just know the REAL “Heritage” behind it. Aside from slavery, it actually represents treason. You can’t say you love America and you support the troops, when you fly a flag that represented a group of states rebelling against America. Read your history books. You lost. So enjoy flying your rebellious, racist, hateful, treasonous, loser flag.

Xenophones, stop telling Mexicans to “go home”. Know your history. This was their land first.

And Republicans, stop trying to associate yourselves with Lincoln. Yes, he was a member of the Republican Party but he wasn’t a 21st Century nut job Republican. Republicans today claim to be for “small government.” Lincoln started the Civil War to maintain federal authority over the states.That’s not small government. And the small government push has nothing to do with what’s best for the people, it’s about what’s best for corporations (The Koch brothers, anyone?) This whole party needs to reevaluate itself.

Democrats aren’t perfect either but at least they don’t make me feel like a second class citizen.

Speaking of which, I’m so glad to see that a lion that most people have never heard of, in a country that most people haven’t traveled to, on a continent that most people have never been – is so much more important than the life of a black woman. (Sandra Bland, anyone?) When that lion got shot, everyone forgot about her real quick. This is why #BlackLivesMatter is a thing, people.

Standard

6 thoughts on “Time to leave? (Angry Post)

  1. Mitch Mitchell says:

    LOL! Great stuff, and it’s amazing that you lasted as long in Texas as you probably have; I’m still amazed Holly has lasted there for so long. Sure, New York isn’t perfect, but it’s a lot less tense than Texas sounds and, at times, Tennessee felt when I was consulting down that way.

    Which state do you call home?

    Like

    • Hey Mitch! I lived in Virginia for 20 years before I moved here. My parents and brother are still there, so that’s home for me. I’m ready to go back. And yes, Virginia has its own set of problems but as the saying goes, “Better the devil you know than the devil you don’t know.”And now that I think about it, next month will be four years in Texas. Yeah, that’s enough time spent here lol.
      Btw, my grandma that just passed in June was born and raised in Brooklyn. She moved down to VA after my grandfather passed in 1995. My brother and I used to love to spend our summers in NYC.

      Like

      • Mitch Mitchell says:

        Actually, I live in the Syracuse area, but of course I’ve been to NYC multiple times. I’ve been in Virginia only a couple of times; couldn’t believe the woman in IHOP asked me if I wanted her to microwave my grits when they were sitting in a pool of water lol

        Like

  2. Mitch Mitchell says:

    Syracuse is wonderful if you ask me, as it’s not my original home town, of which I don’t really have. We call it central New York because for most people upstate NY is barely outside of NYC, whereas we’re right in the middle of the state and there’s lots of “upstate” still to go. 🙂

    Like

    • I’ve Syracuse is wonderful. And you’re right, if it’s not in NYC, I automatically think “upstate”, lol. A lot of us non New Yorkers forget that there’s so much more to the state of New York than NYC.

      Like

Leave a Reply

